id-about-sem pic

Organisation Structure


The Stock Exchange of Mauritius Ltd (SEM) is a demutualised Exchange and is constituted as a public company. SEM's Board is the focal point of the corporate governance system and is ultimately accountable and responsible for the performance and affairs of the Company. In accordance with its Articles, the Board of the SEM has delegated authority for the implementation of Board decisions and day-to-day management of the SEM to the Chief Executive.

The power to act on certain listing matters resides in the Board of the SEM.  The Listing Executive Committee (LEC) deals with listing applications on the Official Market and other specific issues as provided in the SEM Listing Rules. The Listing Executive Committee is comprised of four Representatives of the SEM and four external Members.

The Board has also established two Sub-Committees; namely, the Audit and Risk Management Committee and the Corporate Governance Committee, which also acts as the Remuneration Committee and the Nomination Committee.


organisation structure


Sunil Dutt Benimadhu, joined the SEM as Chief Executive in May 1998. He was appointed Executive Director of the SEM in October 2008. He holds a M.B.A. in Finance and Investment from the University of Illinois, United States. He also holds a D.E A. in Development Economics and a Maîtrise in Macro-Economics from the University of Aix-Marseille, France. Sunil is the Chairman of Global Finance Mauritius, the apex body of private sector operators in the Financial Services Industry in Mauritius. He has been elected in September 2017 for a new three-year term on the Board of the World Federation of Exchanges (WFE), an association of the World's leading Stock Exchanges. Sunil was the President of the African Securities Exchanges Association (ASEA) an association of 28 Exchanges operating on the continent, from August 2010 to November 2014.  From 2002 to 2004, he was a member of the Executive Committee of the South Asian Federation of Exchanges (SAFE), which comprises twelve Stock Exchanges of the South Asian region. From 2001 to 2003, he chaired the SADC Committee of Stock Exchanges (COSSE), an association of stock exchanges which includes ten exchanges of the Southern African region.          



Darmanand Virahsawmy, holds a D.E.S.S. Economics of Information and a Maîtrise in Econometrics from the University of Montpellier, France. He joined the SEM since 1989 as Manager and currently holds the position of Senior Manager/Head of Business Development.             



Vickram Ramful is a fellow member of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants. He is also a holder of a BA (Hons) in Business Accounting from the University of Lincolnshire and Humberside (UK) and holds a MBA in Finance. He joined the SEM in 2005 and held the position of Corporate Finance Manager until 2016, and currently holds the position of Head Listing. He is a member of the MIPA and ACCA Mauritius Branch.



Pamela Li Chun Fong, is a fellow member of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants and also holds a Diploma in Accountancy. She joined the SEM in 1995 as Accountant and currently holds the position of Manager Finance/Administration, and is also the company secretary of the SEM. She is a member of the MIPA and ACCA Mauritius Branch.



Chaitanand Jheengun, is a fellow member of the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators and he also holds a M.B.A. He joined the SEM in 1990 as Administrative Officer and currently holds the position of Manager Trading and Market Information. He is also a member of the ICSA Mauritius Branch.



Shalini Gokhool, holds a LLB (Hons) and she has also completed the Vocational Course for Barristers at the Mauritius Council of Legal Education in 1997. Having acquired experience in legal firms and in the banking sector, she joined the SEM in 2001 as Manager Legal Affairs.



Nishan Aubeeluck, holds an MSc in International Business from the University of Melbourne, Australia. He joined the SEM in 2005 as Manager, Marketing and Market Development. He is member of the Australian Centre for International Business (ACIB), the Financial Services Institute of Australia, and the Finance and Treasury Association of Australia (FTA) .